“Festa”

“Festa” was a photo exhibition organized in Maputo during several weeks and presented in different parts of the town, covering almost twenty names of professional photography.

After a couple of things we had to do, we decided for a second round. Other reasons of going out was the fantastic weather and the trees blossoming on the streets.

We first visited Portuguese photographer Rui Paulo da Cruz, showing a good number of works under the title “The Seven Colors of Silence”. Besides very well presented, the big appeal of Da Cruz is the fact that he mixes poetry with image, as in the following portrait:

Adriana
I almost like the tears that you make me
cry, but I prefer the smiles
that you make me smile, and else
I like the light that you bring to me, when
you do.

After some pleasant moments at Instituto Camões, we went straight to the Mozambican Photographers Association where black and white photos from José Cabral could be seen. The exhibition lacked the organization and presentation of the previous and I wasn’t allowed to take a picture, even of the room.

“Would you authorize if I told you I am a journalist?” Even after an affirmative answer, I decided against. First of all, I didn’t see a single aspect worth to be photographed. Once outside, a beautiful red sun was smiling at me.

We also went to the Franco-Mozambican Cultural Centre showing “Children With Cameras”, pictures taken by 12 to 14 years olds. The variety wasn’t remarkable, or the presentation of the photos very careful, but you may guess what happened: I liked it! The children vision of the world is always captivating and I found a couple with a special touch.

One day before Festa closing, we left home just on time to go to the last three exhibitions but due to organizational aspects we could only return to the AMF (Mozambican Photographers Association), showing Tim A. Hetherington during the last week of the event with the support of the British Council. Once more we witnessed an architectural tendency by the eyes of a photographer: the creole architecture. Good use of colors and very professional vision, but the presentation aspect failed.

The critics are not only mine. Other people complained about organizational aspects and dispersion. When I write these last words about Festa and try to guess what will remain with me of all the exhibition rooms visited, it’s not a picture, it’s not a face, a place or a name, but a sentence of a wise, talented man:

“I claim for the architects the same status that poets and painters have…” (Pancho Miranda Guedes)

