Diary of a Journey

______________________________________________________________

 

1. On the 3rd of this month
Let me tell you that it is far more pleasant to travel this time of the year, when it is fresher. Unfortunately, all puffed in the air when we arrived at the border. Truly indescribable! South Africans solved the crowd problem with a simple measure: separation of pedestrians from drivers. This way the passengers dropped from busses go to one side while the drivers – usually tourists, businessmen or wealthy weekenders – go to the other. When will Mozambican side implement the same measure to stop that torture once and for all?

 

2. Shopping for cameras
First of all, we decided to shop for cameras as soon as arrived in Nelspruit. Despite the fact that the camera was for me, that wasn’t my call. Paul really likes to buy that kind of stuff. In a place like Nelspruit, we don’t have many options. We liked one of those “small black boxes”. After what happened to me on the Marginal, we didn’t want something big, shinning or expensive. Some quality would be fine too. We only found one camera with such characteristics.

 

3. Investing elsewhere
We were a little curious about places that some people from Mozambique are opening in Nelspruit, as investment moves. Why should people invest in SA and not in Mozambique? What is attracting money to that side? We decided to spend the night in a B&B owned by someone from Mozambique. We liked the place. The rooms are a little basic, but the atmosphere and the German management were very much at our taste. Breakfast was one of the best since a very long time, with a special note for the muesli with lots of fresh fruit and the eggs perfectly done, full of paprika and pepper. The German lady in charge confirmed that business wasn’t that good due to competition. However, the owner applied for a subsidy, a way out for small and medium investors in a country taking tourism seriously. If you invest in Mozambique, there are no alternatives at all. If you go down, you stay down. I think this is enough to explain why even small investors are opting for South Africa.

 

4. Doctors are different
After breakfast, we had to rush to the doctors, beginning with a first appointment with the dermatologist. I think I am going to like him. It gives me a good sensation when a doctor seems to be capable of reading your blood… That is the only explanation for the first sentence that he pronounced the moment he looked at me: “Are you French?” As for the dentist, I think that I cannot like him the same way, even if he asks me hundreds of interesting questions. After the doctors, we just had to shop and return to Maputo.

 

5. First timer
I traveled for the first time with my computer. It was really nice. While traveling, a computer can be great company. At least now I know that traveling from Maputo to Nelspruit and back takes the same time than writing a short story. It is also nice to keep in touch, because of all existing wireless places. A bit risky too, with all those stories of people killed while carrying a computer.

 

6. Che Guevara
The travel back to Maputo was so good that we arrived at 5:15pm and at 5:30pm I was ready for my tae bo class. I couldn’t resist telling to my Cuban teacher about the camera incident. I think she was so excited with the idea of someone from her class fighting a thief that her usual energetic attitude doubled at once. The result of all this was that my journey ended up with me (and a whole class of 16 women and 1 man) doing something that not even in a exotic dream I could foresee: dancing Cuban style at the sound of a music whose refrain included Che Guevara! Thanks to my tae bo teacher, that was the first time that I felt really good since my camera was stolen. I think that in the future I have to deal with my attachment to objects that belong to me, enjoying more the contact with people and the uniqueness of moments that life can bring, such as dancing some salsa tune about Che.

 

