A Travel and a Cake

 

Here I am, posting in South Africa about our last days and our next days. This is going to be an exciting and difficult week, with two travels scheduled for so close. First of all, I have my right-hand Tieta back since Tuesday or I would be all tied up. Her holidays looked short – now that are over – still I had time to do my apple cake! The best moment of these last days had to be the invitation to the island. The second best moment was our Friday dinner chez TD’s girlfriend. I truly enjoyed the food, the wine and the company. I also liked my Sunday afternoon running. It was fast and effortless.

 

Tuesday morning, the same day Tieta returned from her vacations, we packed for South Africa. We had two days planned of shopping and fun on the mountains, long before knowing about the invitation to the island. The prospect of our next travel has been always present. Due to that, and also because it is too cold to face another night here, we decided in favor of returning to our base this afternoon. Up on the mountains, it is sunny during the day and freezing cold at night.

 

Now my Apple TV Cake. I call it TV Cake because it is one of the few TV receipts that works for me. It is good with tea or coffee, and even as a desert:

 

1. Mix together all dry ingredients: 2 cups of flour, 1 cup of sugar, 1 pinch of salt and 1 teaspoon of baking powder.

 

2. Add half cup of good quality cooking oil, followed by three entire eggs. Mix well without mixing too much or beating. This dough is a little dry.

 

3. Spice the mix with cinnamon powder, ginger powder, nutmeg powder, gloves powder and vanilla (liquid or pod), at your taste. I like a lot of cinnamon and just a touch of the rest.

 

4. Add two or three skinless Granny Smith apples sliced in small cubes to the dough and mix a little.

 

5. Prepare a medium size cake tin, square or round. You can double the recipe, if you like. Cook it in a 180ºC pre-heated oven for 40 to 50 minutes.

 

This cake is good with tea or coffee. I also like it with vanilla or coconut ice cream (apple sorbet too) and a dash of cinnamon over the desert plate. Bon appétit!

