A Good Thief

 

JP was robbed for the second time in South Africa. This once he was at a restaurant dinning with colleagues. One moment he had his wallet over the table, waiting for the bill-paying negotiations. The next moment the wallet was gone.

 

Inside the wallet he had his documents (very important for someone living abroad), a few money and his bankcard. This card was his profound concern since last year he had his bank account stripped by Cape-Townian gangsters. So he called home in a hurry to cancel the card.

 

Two days later he phoned again with good news. As a matter of fact, I can deliver this news in the form of a short message signed by the victim himself:

 

“I’ve been mugged countless times. I still remember the first one, when I arrived home without my sneakers. I was eight then. I had to walk barefoot from Naval all the way up.

 

Two days ago someone took my wallet from a Richards Bay restaurant. I was already expecting that two or three notes inside it would disappear. I was expecting a lot worse. But, to my surprise, two days later my wallet was found on the same table from where it was taken. Money excluded. Documents and bank card included. Isn’t it amazing? A thief with a good memory. A thief with a good heart. JP

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

On the 20th of February we drove 400km to Richards Bay and another 400km back to Maputo with JP. He is staying 2 weeks with us before flying to another job, hopefully a way to free him from the cycle he has been for the last six years. The first thing he informed us was that at dawn the place where the divers stay had been robbed. Wallets, computers and phones were taken. Either way, we found a very quiet JP without his computer.

 

“It is the eighth time this happens in just 3 weeks” he informed us.

 

We are talking of a (supposed) secure residential complex. Aren’t these great perspectives for World Cup 2010?!?!

 

