Just a Little Bit…

 

“Just a little bit of madness… That’s my current mood and that’s what it takes to make my life a bit different. People who find themselves in a situation of waiting, people who live for something brilliant to happen, they know that they can’t stop. They tend to keep themselves busy with projects. Sometimes mad projects.

 

I conceived two mad projects during the second half of 2007. The first one is about keep writing – and there is nothing more extreme than using a language that is not the one you learned from birth.

 

The second 2007 project involves a lady photographer that I like very much. The way she plays with light and subject led me to idealize a medium term mad project.

 

My first madness of 2008 deals with pregnancy. As I know someone very close who cannot have a baby, and somehow I felt that her happiness could depend on it, I offered myself to conceive a baby for her through some artificial method.

 

I think the idea is quite exciting and a challenge I am willing to face, though family reaction hasn’t been very enthusiastic. Some say it’s not legal. Some say it’s not moral. Some say it’s not safe.

 

Anyway, my offer sleeps on the table. I don’t know for how long. At least during 2008… My mood changes. In reality, I have to rethink all the implications of such serious step. A bit of madness doesn’t mean a decision wantonly taken.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. 

One week after publishing this post, I learned that the couple I was decided to help, out of friendship, has finally received news from one of the various adopting agencies they have been contacting for ages. Within a month or so they are going to adopt a three years old boy, a child abandoned by his parents at the tender age of six months. Proving how badly they wanted this child, the soon to be father cried when he looked at the picture of the little boy. Could someone explain to me why the three had to wait for three years? Do adopting services have to be this cruel? Have a heart!

