Best of March 2008

______________________________________________________________

 

On the night film director Antony Minghella died, Ti and I sat together watching Stanley Kubrik’s 2001 Space Odyssey and Richard E. Grants’ Wah Wah. Ti was sad with the news. He had met Minghella because his Johannesburg friend and neighbour is actually working on the trailer of Minghella’s Botswana series, and both (film editor and Ti) had the recent opportunity of meeting the director.

 

After the movies we sat quietly, talking about future plans. I told him about a novel with environmental nuances I want to dedicate to my mother and he told me about his involvement in movie making and a script he has been writing. Ti is sort of co-directing a movie whose script is an adaptation of Albert Camus’ The Guest to the Mozambican reality. Then he described an idea for the first script he is writing, a naïve love story set in a busy African town.

 

When he left to his Maputo apartment, I stayed up for a while with a book and music. And then, the same night director Minghella died, I got it for the first time. Seabell, a woman turned mother not by vocation or planning but by the circumstances, finally understood what having children really means: children are just about raising someone that one day, hopefully, becomes a good friend. If that’s true, I think I half succeeded. I raised at least one close friend with whom I can talk in equal terms.

 

Maybe because I used the friendly approach with the eldest one too soon, she is now a little bossy and shows a tendency to mother me. Instead of finding it annoying, it sometimes amuses me. I let it happen. After all, I am partly an orphan.

 

With no doubts about having raised four potential good friends and overwhelmed by this reassuring feeling of success, I went to bed the night a great film director unexpectedly died.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Na noite em que o director de cinema Antony Minghella morreu, o Ti e eu sentámo-nos a ver 2001 Odisseia no Espaço de Stanley Kubrik e Wah Wah de Richard E. Grant. O Ti estava triste com a notícia. Ele conheceu Minghella porque o seu amigo e vizinho de Joanesburgo está de momento a trabalhar no trailer da série de Minghella filmada no Botswana, e os dois (amigo editor de cinema e Ti) tiveram a recente oportunidade de conhecer pessoalmente o director.

 

Depois dos dois filmes sentámo-nos em sossego, falando dos nossos planos para o futuro. Eu contei-lhe acerca de uma novela de nuances ambientais que quero dedicar à minha mãe e ele falou do envolvimento dele no mundo do cinema e do guião que tem estado a escrever. O Ti está de certa forma a desenvolver a actividade de co-director num filme cujo guião é uma adaptação de O Hóspede de Albert Camus à realidade moçambicana. Por fim, ele falou da ideia que teve para o primeiro guião que está a escrever, uma simples história de amor passada numa movimentada cidade de África.

 

Quando ele saiu para o apartamento que tem em Maputo, eu ainda fiquei algum tempo acordada com um livro e música. E então, na mesma noite em que o director Antony Minghella morreu, eu percebi uma coisa pela primeira vez. Seabell, uma mulher que se tornou mãe não por vocação ou planeamento mas pelas circunstâncias, compreendeu finalmente o que ter filhos realmente significa: filhos é acerca de criar alguém que um dia, na melhor das hipóteses, pode ser um bom amigo. Se isso é verdade, penso que tive sucesso. Criei pelo menos um amigo com o qual posso falar de igual para igual.

 

Talvez porque tenha usado o método da amizade um pouco cedo demais com a mais velha, ela é agora um pouco mandona e tem a tendência de ser um pouco maternal comigo. Em vez de me incomodar, eu até acho isso divertido. Geralmente, deixo que aconteça. No fim de contas, em sou parcialmente orfã.

 

Sem quaisquer dúvidas sobre ter criado quatro potenciais bons amigos e confortada por esse sentimento de sucesso, fui assim deitar-me na noite em que inesperadamente um grande director de cinema morreu.

 

