Tribal Phase

 

I usually sleep until late. Sundays are so quiet here that it’s almost like if mornings didn’t exist. When we plan to go out for lunch, I pick something casual to wear, always in a rush. We waste three hours or a little more with a routine including: 1) Restaurant. 2) Coffee somewhere else. 3) Short walk.

 

When the decision is staying home, I have to come up with some menu pleasing Greeks and Trojans. Basically, Andy and Paul have the same taste in terms of food. Despite having breakfast around 9am, they both are more than ready for another round at noon.

 

Sundays at home for me represent getting up and going straight to the kitchen, where I prepare lunch for at least three and a “breaklunch” for me, a meal usually consisting of two items I usually would have for breakfast plus two items from lunch.

 

I like what I cook and I plan carefully what I want to have. Last Sunday we had three different lunches going on. Andy, who is becoming a good cook, prepared a roast yesterday. He learned the basics during cooking classes, but he has been improving since then. It was my job supervising the cooking process. At eleven, Andy and friends where already waiting for the roast.

 

This is what happened since eleven or, if you prefer, the highlights of this week: Sunday) The waiting group discovered a bowl with cooked prawns I was saving for my omelet. They ate them all. When Andy realized the mistake, he asked the guard to cook more and offered two bubbling bottles and a bottle container for my Macaneta expeditions. During the afternoon we learned that young South Africans started to kill Zimbabweans, Malawians and Mozambicans making a living in South Africa. Monday) Andy was supposed to travel to Johannesburg but found an extreme busy border, so he was not sure of trying again. Would that be the case that Mozambicans are flying from street violence in South Africa? Tuesday) We confirmed the exodus and Andy gave up traveling. By night, we discovered that the rage has more tribal than economic bases. South African news showed a woman who was savagely beaten, despite showing her South African ID, just because she was speaking Xangana, a language common to both Mozambique and South Africa. That gives a new dimension to the problem and someone has to write this down: in a country where World Cup 2010 is supposed to happen, there are still tribal conflicts going on resulting in more than thirty death cases. Wednesday) Paul and I had a political theme during our short walk: the recent violence in South Africa against foreigners. In his opinion, the main target of the Zulus could be the Xhosas. If he is right, what is happening now is only a sample of things to come. I advanced that it is urgent to invest in education and that the only money coming to Africa should be for educating people. Paul nodded, adding that it would be necessary to control how that money was used and to check carefully the results. Thursday) Paul applauded my first three sprints in a very long time. I applauded my creativity in other areas. Friday) TD arrived for a show where I intend to be present.

