Bubbles and Foam

 

Returning to Macaneta was Paul’s idea. We liked our winter picnic so much that we both decided to pick a new place along that gigantic stretch of sand. There are only three or four places to stay. We had been a good number of times in one of them, so we decided for a second option.

 

Set on a remote, deserted part of Macaneta, there is a lodge conceived to match its surrounds. Most of it was integrally built with local material and following local construction patterns.

 

It all went like a  symphony until we end up stuck in the middle of tons of sand, due to excessive air inside the tyres of the car.

 

Paul started to be critical from that moment on. Thankfully he was more satirical like, a facet I found much more interesting than being plainly critical.

 

“I was expecting a eco-lodge, not an extreme eco-challenge!” he said as a conclusion.

 

I don’t regret the effort we put into getting there, although I have to admit that some of Paul’s observations make sense. Even for someone prepared and into ecotourism, the experience can be a little radical.

 

In general, I think the idea is good, but the execution is not entirely succeeded. Despite this conclusion, I tell you about what I really liked in my last beach escape: 1) Space, privacy and quietness. 2) Proximity of the sea. 3) Pristine, unspoiled nature. How perfect it is without human interference! (Not so clean in front of the popular and accessible lodge! If I could photograph and collect all this in two kilometers of beach, I guess someone from the lodge could easily do the same.) 4) Company of local dogs, especially on the beach. 5) Bathing musical gadget for the third time and witnessing its miraculous survival. 6) Picnic whose highlights were bubbles and Scottish salmon. 7) Being able to relax, and at the same time do very energetic activities for two days.

 

I intend to organize these conclusions and others as a guide, to be updated when different experiences happen. A live guide, maybe?

