Zink Blues

 

Despite the timidity of the sun, we couldn’t avoid the temptation of stopping in Zinkwazi. At least it wasn’t cold or rainy as three days before. It was pretty windy though, but that is the norm.

 

The small beach village remains the same, as we left it nine months ago. This means that the signs of the 2006 storm are still there. Curiously, we found in Zink a couple we met while dinning at a Japanese restaurant in Durban.

 

Paul developed an allergy to Zink, because we now have other options. I know that I can change his mind as soon as an opportunity presents. I told him:

 

‘We should be back at least once a year. I intend to finish my book in Zinkwazi.’

 

I understand his position. Zink is a bit wild and isolated. We hardly can sleep with the alarms going off during the night. The sight of armed groups invading our garden keeps haunting us.

 

Though, Zink has an appeal difficult to ignore. It’s a good place for quietness, photography and decisions. I have memories there. Some make me bleed. Some make me smile. Since holidays of September 2007, that place is also about my distant daughter.

 

Later we stopped in Richards Bay, where we had lunch and shopped for food. JP’s territory. The mall has doubled in size. Here most shopping centers grow from big to gigantic. I know the reason why they grow in size and it’s not because of the users. Personally, I just hate it.

 

I took a few pictures for JP to see, but deleted most of them because they couldn’t capture the actual size of the place. I left RB wondering if I shouldn’t have bought a new camera, but right now I have a hate relationship with cameras. Better wait for the wind to change.

