Inventing Games For…

 

Having to cross an entire country just to reach another is pure nonsense. That’s what happens if you set your mind onto driving from Maputo to Durban. On the way to I had the company of music and puzzles, but the way back seemed particularly long.

 

Usually I have enough imagination to keep me busy, but I was still fragile with a cold and nurturing a bad migraine yet to come. I had to be really clever not to be deadly bored. Can you imagine how tragic would be to read on my epitaph stone: “Died of boredom while crossing Swaziland!”

 

I told Paul:

 

“Bet I can come up with 50 words defining what Mozambique is!”

 

“Impossible,’ he replied. ‘Maybe 10 or 20, maximum!”

 

I started to say words somehow describing Mozambique. Soon Paul was into the game too. In the end we had almost 60 words, some of them I had to cut to stick with initial number 50.

 

I intend to use this list, maybe with notes, in my guide to Mozambican beaches, still in writing process. Meanwhile, here you have the final result of circa one hour of tedious roads, divided in three groups: 1) Essence. 2) Worst. 3) Best.

 

Maybe you can guess what group you are reading…. It’s monumentally easy!

 

Flows

Crime

Poverty

Beggars
Rubbish
Sickness
Mosquitos
Corruption

Bureaucracy

Holey streets
Obscurantism
Chaotic traffic

Degradated buildings
Barracas (street stalls)

Drought related hunger
Maluenes (street children)
Bad public transport system

Dumbanengues (flea markets)

Lack of incentives to private sector

Still deficient water and power supply

 

Heat

Beer
Prawns
Cashew
Nice people

Piri-piri chicken
Endless beaches

Coconut plantations
Capulanas (colorful clothes)
Marrabenta (sensual female dance)

 

Sea

Sun
Fish

Islands

Seafood

Art crafts

Rare wood

Photography

Fishing safaris

Natural reserves

Cabritos (goats)

Tangerines from Inhambane

Matapa (Mozambican curry)

Nightlife (here called partying)

Costa do Sol (Best known restaurant)

Mozal (Biggest company in Mozambique)

Kanimambo (Mozambican word to say thanks)

Vinto and capilé (Drinks invented in Mozambique)
Tropical fruits (Mainly mango, banana, papaya and pineapple)

Ja, ciao and nice (Words currently used to say yes, goodbye and good)

