The Right to Be Sad

 

Children are supposed to be happy. If they cry or stress, it’s not because they are sad by nature but because nature is sad to them. (Do spell nature more like society.)

 

I had inexplicable sadness spells. They must have been so unusual in a child with food, cloths and toys that my first grade teacher used to stop the classes to carry me home. Maybe she was afraid I was sick or something of that sort. She must have asked the reason for my sadness and my mother must have felt awkward. How could she explain why her six years old daughter was so sad?

 

I’ve spent quite sometime myself trying to discover, in my remote memories, a reason for this childhood sadness. I could find a hypothetical few, like missing my family, my house… The sadness happened usually when I was away, so that feeling could have roots in the fear of losing the things I cherished.

 

Childhood happiness is somehow lost in the process of growing up. I’ll not discuss the reasons or the infallibility of this statement. It’s said nobody keeps that cheerfulness forever. One day we find ourselves immerse in sadness. Sometimes the process is abrupt and evident. Sometimes is much more subtle. Some people stay in that sadness condition for the rest of their lives. Some people are able to learn cheerfulness and happiness all over again. Some are genuine. Some just mimic reminiscences of the past.

 

I guess I had to attend happy classes at a very early stage. Sometimes I mimic. Most of the times it’s the real deal. Today I have something to say. Since our sadness or happiness doesn’t bother the world, we have the right to feel the way we want.

