Prawn Soup

 

My appetite for prawn soup faced a terrible contrariety: to make it creamy, as any prawn soup has to be, I had to use either flour or cream. As I avoid both, I was restricted to a forced prawn soup diet.

 

I tried to make it using potatoes as a base, but the potato has a recognizable taste and texture I don’t like in this particular soup. The cream must be velvety and discreet so that the seafood flavor stands out.

 

After a few attempts I discovered I could only reach the result I wanted by mixing rice and potato – sweet potato since my nutrition guru recommended it instead of regular potato. It’s too simple and too tasty to believe.

 

1. Put together into a large pan:

a good quantity of water
10 to 20 large prawns, at least half of them with shells and heads
1 or 2 onions
2 to 4 garlic gloves
½ of an average size sweet potato

3 to 4 tablespoon of white rice

2. After well cooked, blend it well and strain it carefully.

 

3. Season the resulting cream with salt and a drizzle of olive oil.

 

4. Let it boil until the required consistency: light and creamy.

 

5. Right before the end of the process, add a generous amount of shopped fresh coriander leaves and don’t forget the pepper too. Serves 4 to 6 and… bon apétit!

