Short & Bitter

 

I was glad to read that I am not the only one deeply unimpressed by the new way of messaging. A dating female journalist complained, in an article, about the shortening of words and even the wrong spelling of those short words. In brief, she admits we have sometimes to opt for short, but when it’s about romance, and a few other circumstances, we (women) still want complete sentences and preferably poetry.

 

I totally agree. Sometimes I found myself guessing what someone is trying to say. If I learned to write complete words and sentences, why on earth should I have to learn new languages within languages I’m still trying to master?

 

When I write in Portuguese I am sometimes inclined to use abbreviations, like tb instead of também (also) or bjs instead of beijos (kisses), but I hate the idea of reducing our written communication to stenography.

 

My father has a way with words. I’ll always remember his joy and playfulness saying words he was fond of. I like words too. Thankfully, a significant number of people like words.

 

I think Paul is amused with odd words I use from time to time, words he doesn’t know. Even speaking the same language, we came from different regions. Recently I called him azevia and had to explain why and the meaning of the word. So, I told him how his belly sometimes reminds me of the shape of a delicious pastry my grandmother used to prepare called azevia. It’s a folded pie, filled with a heavenly sweet chickpea cream.

 

Paul is also delighted with words like gasganeiro (voracious), lorpa (rapacious) or papa-açorda (mashed bread eater, meaning a lazy person). Evidently, Paul likes words too and he seems to have taken the azevia comparison with humor. Maybe he still remembers that my father would say, under the same circumstances, something like barriga de almeice (curd belly). And that sounds a lot worse than a delicious azevia!

