Weekend Treats

 

Two weekends ago my sweet tooth broke loose and it was my own self who paid for it. First I baked pecan biscuits: 1) Beat well half cup of unsalted butter. 2) Add half cup of brown sugar and half cup of honey, always beating. 3) Then 3 eggs, one at a time. 4) Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl: 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of sliced pecans, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, a touch of salt, a bit of nutmeg. 5) Slowly add the dry mixture to the batter. 6) Spoon small portions to a previously greased baking tray and let it cook at 200ºC during 15 to 20 minutes.

 

It was the first time I baked such biscuits and I found them good to go with coffee. Maybe because I cut down on butter, I found the final result a bit dry. Though, all those nice, familiar ingredients tempted me. I also decided to bake my apple cake (maybe it’s time to discover a new fantastic apple recipe) just because the Granny Smith looked so yummy.

 

At the same time my vim was going to the marzipan production I was learning something from it: no use speeding up the sugar process or buying packed almonds. As a result, my fourth marzipan looked good but tasted worse than previous attempts prepared with almonds from the shell. This once I used crystal sugar and broke one in half to underline the difference between my granny’s marzipan and mine. Hers had a sweet egg yolk filling. They are called “queijinhos do céu” or little cheeses from heaven. That’s how delicious they are.

 

Meanwhile and curiously, Andy also picked three different treats for the same weekend: peppered clams, manioc and mud. He brought home a lot of it. Montanhana mud, I presume. He cooked clams to share with friends. They tasted really good. Tieta boiled the manioc mechanic-driver Américo brought from his family farm in Gaza. Andy usually likes cookies with his tea, but he makes clear he also likes to prepare a few treats by himself.

