My Short Lived Life as a Cineaste

 

In the past I played inconsequently with camcorders. Correcting, Paul, TD, Andy and I, at different stages, played. As a consequence, I have a drawer with hours and hours of images, representing less than two hours worth to keep, a job waiting for a rainy day.

 

Recently, I “discovered” how easy is to change my small camera to video recording and, as a curiosity, I “directed” three short movies. I liked and hated the result, at the same time. I kept the three for days and, finally, I deleted them just because I was sure they would only add to the already existing volume of recorded moments.

 

My first attempt was a self-portray. With it I learned a few things. Video recording is far more flattering than pictures. I mean physically. I am not sure if this is a general rule, but that was my own conclusion. At the same time, I found it to be less flattering in behavioral terms, mainly posture and voice, aspects almost absents in photography. After feeling very tempted to keep it, since physically I was so okay, I decided against only because I was sitting incorrectly.

 

My second movie showed Paul reading the newspaper and, once again, the images showed a trace of him not immediately obvious to naked eyes: he keeps moving his feet all the time as if they were an unstoppable windscreen cleaner. That gave me the idea of repeating the same movement with my eyelashes and then matching Paul’s feet dance with my own feet. The result would make Chaplin cry or laugh. TD found it kind of interesting. It didn’t pass my tenth scrutiny, though. I was seriously afraid my lashes movement could be mistaken by the meaningful messages of silent movies heroines.

 

My third movie was an outside-take, showing TD and a friend playing with our dogs. Once again I observed things I couldn’t with my own eyes. Ten times I watched it, ten times I couldn’t see a single reason to keep it. In resume: too much noise. Despite having serious doubts of my cinematographic skills, I have an advice: if you want to correct yourself or if you have doubts in terms of other people, video recording can be a reasonable mirror of what we are.

