Sometimes Rivers

I shall never ever hear his voice
Astonish with his endless humour
Ah, big-belly! Little-monkey?

I got tired of unmistakable signs
I knew, but refused to read
A dead spider in my teacup
The impulse to write about him

I watched the time in dismay: 11:11
All so parallel and I so impotently
oblique

Shoulders where to cry become scarce
And if I cry is out of fear that without him
Nothing shall ever be the same
Gone the sortilege, the games
the laugher?

We shall sleep summers and winters
Against the walls where people of love die
(Grand passions, fragile lungs!)

And I thought this river had
Only a border to haunt me down

One thought on “Sometimes Rivers

  1. E o original:

    Às Vezes os Rios Não Têm Margens

    Nunca mais vou ouvir a sua voz
    Pasmar com seu humor intacto
    Ah, o barrigudo! És a macaquinha?

    Cansei-me de inequívocos sinais
    Que soube, mas não quis ler
    A aranha morta no chá
    A vontade de escrever

    Desfalecida vi as horas, 11:11 dizia
    Tudo tão paralelo e eu tão impotentemente
    oblíqua

    Vão escasseando ombros onde chorar
    E se choro é por medo de sem ele
    Nada do que existe voltar a ser igual

    Terão ido os sortilégios, as brincadeiras
    as risadas?

    Dormiremos muitos estios e rigores do frio
    Entre paredes onde se morre de amores
    (Grandes paixões, frágeis pulmões!)

    E eu pensando que neste rio havia
    Uma só margem para me assombrar

Comments are closed.