Preseason Frivolity

Two days ago I received a message with beautiful pictures from the north of Mozambique. It started like this: “Greetings from sunny but not so warm Maputo…” That same day I had an hour or so for myself and used it with summer frivolities. After a very cold week, we have been graced with nice, sunny weather. It felt as if summer was just round the corner.

Summer starts with my very own wardrobe. It is almost a walking wardrobe and looks more or less organized. Usually it’s enough organized for someone to fetch me a specific item without the risk of doing wrong.

I went through a few basket-drawers checking if something deserved to stay or a more tragic destiny. Nothing exciting so far. Discoveries include: 1) One pair of socks good for walking the dogs, once a couple in use are ready for retirement. 2) Two dresses, green cotton and brown silk, deserving to be part of next summer. 3) It’s a bit too late to put winter pyjamas in use, for sure… 4) Redefinition of my wardrobe in terms of colours.

For lack of time, I am not sure what’s going on in terms of summer fashion. I usually trust my own instincts and they say: solid colours with matching accessories. The accessories are noticeable, yet not that strikingly.

As for colours, my wardrobe is well defined. I just had to change a few aspects. Last year it was like this: a) basic colors (white, black and brown); b) reds and blues; c) flower patterns. This year I’ll pick: A) the same basic colours (white, black and brown); B) happy, strong colours (red, green, yellow…): C) really soft colours (pink, blue and so on).

It was a short exploration, ending with two conclusions: 1) Half of my summer wardrobe might be okay for next summer. I am talking of 60 active dresses going down to 30. I shall replace a few and invest in accessories, namely nice shoes and at least a white leather bag. 2) It can easily be a fashion worry-free summer, since I intend to spend a great deal of it wearing a sarong and enjoying my brand new backyard.

Frivolity is an exception these days. A breeze. Regular days, like today, include full morning reading chapter three and afternoon at a warehouse selecting construction material, a noisy place where the cashier puzzlingly displays a printed T-shirt saying: “I only look innocent”. Night? One or hopefully two more chapters to read. And there’s a tricky one yet to be written.

