My Construction War

Maybe I need to remember, from time to time, how close construction projects are to sceneries of war. With this post I just intend to prove that.

Mistakes:
The Jacuzzi arrived on the 18th and I wasn’t surprised it had to be that particular day. I don’t believe 8 is a lucky number, yet it follows me in a very strange way. The measurements were wrong and we had to redo the place. In terms of war, let’s just admit it: we missed the target. Orlando, my stone layer, philosophically said: ‘Measurements are a very important issue!’ Who is to blame? We all added to the mistake, including Orlando, but in the end of the day I know I am going to answer for that.

Injuries:
My dogs are super excited with the comings and goings of strange people. When they are excited I am the first one to feel that. I have all kind of bruises over my legs. And it hurts. There are other minor injuries to be reported, mainly due to careless stone handling.

Causalities:
With all the strangers entering this house I wasn’t surprised to discover a couple of things missing. Only on the 18th, nine strangers came inside carrying the Jacuzzi. Yet, it was the day before I noticed something missing and could act.

Miracles:
One of the two guys called to substitute the drain system of one of the air conditioners took one of the rings I am currently wearing. It has a very dark stone, almost black. I called them back, half an hour after they left, and said to the suspect: ‘I am not asking if you did it. I am asking to have my ring back.’ To the surprise of the nearby workers finishing the front stone floor, he picked the black stone ring from a plastic bag he was carrying and put it straightly in the middle of the palm of my hand. I could hear the ahs and hops on my back.

Is there a lesson to be learned? Construction projects are a decade thing for me. They hurt that long. As for the ring, the message is clear. It is very rare to get back a ring that I like. Something is about to change. Clearly. Wars are a strong painful changing factor.

2 thoughts on “My Construction War

Comments are closed.