Conversations With My Bones

Winter 2012 is going to be different. For a start, I decided to skip our usual visit to Johannesburg. This is a decision inserted in a philosophy of life somehow a little forgotten: hedonism. I am erasing all the things that are not good in terms of my own interests and happiness. If it doesn’t give me joy or pleasure, I don’t do it. Johannesburg is unbelievably cold to insist in a senseless winter visit. On the other hand, summer is too hot and dry. Consequently, if we need or want to go there it has to be during spring (September, October or November).

This decision created a very practical problem: I cannot buy new winter stuff for my own wardrobe the way I am used to. I was already decided to buy local, since these days we can find shops reasonably assorted here. In my short winter list, for instance, I had 2 or 3 long sleeve T-shirts front buttoned. I wasn’t expecting to find them so soon, when summer is still absolute sovereign, and in two of my favorite colors: pink(ish) and brown(ish).

Another unpleasant thing for me (and it was a bit difficult to admit that) is my daily walk with the dogs. I like to walk with Thoth, the male, but then Keketh (the female) gets nervous and bites whoever and whatever is close. I was forced to walk with Keketh and I just hated it. She is a lousy walker, always wanting to go where she wants to go and not necessarily where she is supposed to go. In the end of each walk I usually found myself frustrated and tired, even if the walk lasted 10 minutes only. As evident, I wouldn’t be capable of punishing my adorable dogs just because of my hedonistic principles. I substituted the attention of the walk with a period of the day when I play ball with Keketh and cuddle Thoth. Keketh is very good with the ball and Thoth loves attention and pampering. The dogs are happy and I am happy. Besides, they still walk with the guards.

A very important aspect of my hedonistic life is dance. Who would have said that the dance suiting me best is ballet? I first suspected it when I discovered that one of the professional dancers having trouble with tango was, in fact, a ballet dancer. It was a surprise to me, because one automatically thinks that if someone dances ballet she or he is able to dance about anything. That is far from the truth. There’s a temperamental aspect associated with dance witch is determinant to success when dancing a particular genre.

I also suspected that ballet could be the dance for me when I was learning flamenco. That doesn’t mean I was good with flamenco, since I didn’t even had time to know it for sure. Still, during those classes I could perceive that the classic lines of flamenco were my favorite.

I am now finishing what I believe to be a second stage of ballet. I am far from being there, where I want to be; still, the effects are so radical that I know, beforehand, that nothing is going to be the same again. As far as I could perceive, ballet is danced from the bones. I started to call our classes “conversations with the bones” because of that. I have to be so focused, so attentive to what my bones are “saying” that I have very little time left to other marginal aspects of my life. Only those who ever attempted ballet can realize the difference between important and trivial.

