Two Lessons and One Doubt

New exciting things on my horizon, the kind of things we dream about and think they never materialize. They do. Maybe the secret is not to dream but dream lots of different dreams, some of them will realize and some won’t. This is the first lesson.

I returned to ballet with more sadness than enthusiasm. I live “missing someone” beforehand. I learn difficult subjects if I have a teacher with major T, a teacher with “savoir” teaching. In my whole life I just met four or five of them, two in Mozambique. One was my former tae bo teacher, now living in Italy. The second is my ballet teacher who is leaving soon to her own country. Over the last weeks I’ve been fighting the stress of separation, knowing I shall never find someone with the same skills and dedication any time soon.

The first class I was distracted and indifferent. Instead of ignoring my numbness, my teacher insisted I was capable of pointing my feet, as a ballerina should, something I’ve been avoiding with the (true) excuse of cramps. She thought me a simple exercise I’ve been practicing for one week now and goodbye cramps. The result is amazing.

The second class was barre advanced, pretty difficult stuff. Besides points (solved) I (still) fight with first position and most of the leg raising positions. The third class (floor barre) went a lot better. When I told my success over cramps and showed my new beautiful points, my teacher’s enthusiasm was moving. I just hate losing people I like and admire, especially when they have an important role in my own life and performance.

In spite of such upsetting feelings, I’m in the process of overcoming them and embracing the tenacious group who intends to keep dancing ballet without professional coaching. I’ll do my best to keep this dream strong and alive.

Meanwhile, a friend explained to me the reason why some people get sick with malaria and some don’t. Instead of a third lesson, I ended up with a doubt. It seems the temperature of the blood has something to do with it. It works like this: 1) Mosquitoes bite someone with hot blood, they don’t like it and poison the drink with malaria. 2) Mosquitoes bite people with cold blood, they drink with pleasure and spare them from the parasite. I do have symptoms of a cold blood specimen: I am not sensitive to hot or cold weather and it’s quite difficult for me to sweat. Even though interesting, the explanation sounds too incredible to trust.

