Half Strong, Half Weak

Someone close to my family noticed a remarkable difference between us. According to her observation, half of us are strong and half weak. She defined the strong ones as those who feel comfortable alone and don’t need the approval or attention of others. She gave JP as an example of strong and Andy of weak. According to the same person, JP is hard and difficult to be moved, while Andy is very sensitive.

Even though I think JP is not entirely hard and Andy absolutely sensitive, I suppose she is kind of right. The Literature is full of extreme temperaments changing with time – as a proof that no one is purely this and that. I also believe I am responsible for the strong part of this now African family. Having said that, I have to admit that it’s not the sensitivity I marvel at in the other half. It’s the attention they crave and constantly require from the other half. It’s really strange, irritating and exhausting. Differences in character are difficult to understand, manage and accept.

It’s quite interesting how people pick facets of our personalities. The idea they have about us. The simplified versions of us… The stereotypes. No one is perfectly strong or weak. As for the need for attention, the aspect I so disapprove, I have to be sincere: even if I can live without it, there are rare moments when attention is welcomed. I also think that people not craving the attention of many only care about the attention of one.

9 thoughts on “Half Strong, Half Weak

  1. The saying goes that you only get one chance to make a first impression…and I have to agree.

    I would have to add, though, that beyond that first impression, you get the rest of your life to make a lasting impression. It is the one you make when you truly get to know another person and they get to know you in return.

    Stereotypes only exist where ignorance ends. Nobody is this or that. No category identifies us either collectively or individually. The person sitting all alone, content with his being, the one who doesn’t get out and touch others will never understand that.

    But he who is unable to live in society, or who has no need because he is sufficient for himself, must be either a beast or a god. – Aristotle.

    I loved this post.

    Tim

    1. A good last sentence is always hard to find, at least for me. I’ve been following a group of writers on WordPress and I feel amazed how I relate with your experiences (for instance, Anna Belfrage’s dreams and your feelings on first writing), proving that creative borders are different from the geographical ones. 🙂

  2. True that we’re all bundles of contradictions, with some aspects probably rising more to the surface than others depending on the person or situation. This makes me think of Scarlett O’Hara too. 🙂

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors
    would truly benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Regards!

    1. It’s ok, I suppose. I change my thematic easily. All I’ve been saying now is that those who never experienced a love relationship have reasons to question love.

Comments are closed.