Trials and Mistakes

img_7198

Yesterday I’ve done one of those silly mistakes: I handled the chilliest peppers in the world without gloves. The burn lasted for hours. Instinctively, I felt like washing my hands and trying to ease the pain with any cold liquid available. The Google and having a doctor boyfriend helped a lot.

A local restaurant gave me this recipe of piri-piri sauce: soak it over-night, blend it with a bit of vinegar and finally olive oil. I wasn’t happy with the result. The original sauce was red. Mine was whitish. The reason could only be the white seeds. I used my naked hands to remove part of them. I was right. Yet, the result was excruciating pain.

The idea of cold milk came to my mind, but it took a while before I actually applied it. At first I rushed to almost everything I had, from three different kinds of aloe gels to a local anesthetic. In the end, what really worked was washing the hands repeatedly and soaking them in cold milk. Three hours later, when I went to bed, I was still in pain. The left hand was okay, but the right one hurt like hell. I closed it tightly around a baby wipe and, even though I couldn’t believe it to be possible, I went to sleep. The next morning, the pain was gone and the wipe lay on the floor. This was my first severe chilly burn. I just hope it’s the last one as well.

